The dying art of Autocad Modeling… Is it.. old school??

I admit, I model in Autocad.. Is this lame. Sometimes people give me that look. The look that “your only modeling in Autocad because you can’t model in 3dsmax.”

That’s not true, I chose to model in Autocad. I come from a generation that autocad was the be all, end all. 3dmax was just this program that was really cool but no one in the office would actually own a copy.   It seems like all the younger renderers wouldn’t touch Autocad with a ten foot pole for modeling. So my question is, is autocad modeling old school?

I think Autocad is a great tool, and now with the advances in lighting and materials, and new presspull command, I think it intergrates with clients elevations and floorplans pretty well.  I was recently on a forum called cadtutor.com and impressed to see some of the new renderings in autocad, lighting and all. Autocad has come a long way from Release 10. It no longer looks like a cartoon.  Some of the interior shots were pretty amazing.

So I dont know nurbs. But you gotta love presspull. Take a client elevation and just start presspulling the regions until you have a whole side of a building modeled in no time. I admit, it still needs a little work and is a little buggy but it could be great.

I can model fast. Probably faster than any 20 year old cg artist with a 3d program. So cut us old timers some slack and don’t give us that look like we are a dying breed. Autocad still rocks!

7 Comments

Filed under 3d design, architectural illustration, architecture

7 responses to “The dying art of Autocad Modeling… Is it.. old school??

  1. icefisher

    Oh. I think its time you breached another subject we don’t hear a consensus on. . . modelling storefront systems. From solid modelling them in ACAD to the failing of ADT, and scripts, what is your process? rubberstamping? both sides?

  2. Ajay.P.M

    AutoCAD is remarkable nowadays.
    Yes accept that not user friendly as compared to lates 3D softwares..
    But its latest rendering add-ons are pretty impressive..
    i am exploring to how extent i can bring the ambience to 3D…Its pretty happening & crazy to represent AutoCAD abilities…
    Cheers AutoCAD as it has kept my 3D endeavours alive///

  3. Storefronts as in retail storefronts?

  4. Thank you for admitting that you’re still clinging on to Autocad for modelling your 3D projects. I started to think that I’m the only one of the dying (dead?) breed of modeler who does that, until I come across your post here.
    I did try modeling in 3D Max (doh, I render in it) but gave up eventually since I found it too cumbersome to learn a new trick when the old one serves me just fine.
    I’ve yet to try the presspull though, I’ll KIV that till I find the time.

  5. hi there, lm very keen to find people who still do hand illustrations or sketch or rendering, to see how they personally feel about programs on todays computers. have they lost that raw feel of hand rendered artwork or even going out and drawing what they see??? anyone who can come back to me l thank you in advance. my name is john suffolk, l work at a advertising school based in south africa, since leaving the ad industry 15 years ago, l do hand work skills with my students at this school, full name: aaa school of advertising. l also lecture art direction / full time.

Leave a comment